Versioning is an advanced backup feature in ENC DataVault. Enabling versioning for a Vault will retain a certain amount of versions of each file when modified.
To activate Versioning it is necessary to make a first backup of the files in the Vault on the flash drive or other external storage device, or the computer. Files in any backed up Vault are then available for versioning. After Versioning is enabled, any file that is updated to a vault will have the previous version stored in a subfolder. Currently there are a maximum of five previous versions stored in separate subfolders.
If you want to roll back to a previous version of a file, follow the below steps:
- Highlight the file;
- Right click with your mouse and choose previous versions;
- Select a vault and click on the versioning button.
Deleting previous versions of a file
At present, once Versioning has been enabled it cannot be disabled. However, you can remove the older file versions from storage on a drive. For example, if you delete subfolder 5 from the .TRASHBIN folder, the oldest version of files will be removed from storage.